menu

Rating

Total average

69.9/100

Learning Materials ( 65 )
Learning Activities ( 71.8 )
Blackboard Management ( 76.9 )
Course Content ( 80.3 )
Course Structure ( 66.2 )
Contact Availability ( 65.7 )
Course Difficulty ( 63.3 )

Reviews (9)

Anonymous
   
MECH2700 – Engineering Analysis I 82.9

It's safe to say I knew nothing about coding at all before I started MECH2700. So it was a bit of a wake-up call originally but definitely once I put in the effort it was a lot easier than I thought.
I really liked this course. The workbook extracts were actually quite hard and time consuming. It's great to make friends with other students so you can all try to help each other understand the assignments and workbook extracts. Good sense of comradeship between the cohort when attempting all assessment items.

The first assignment is a bit difficult to start (if you haven't coded before) but is a great learning tool. I came out of this assignment knowing way more about Python than I did at the start, and so was confident coding in assignment 2. Some of the tutors are great (Mitch Dunn!) and so its definitely worth attending all of the computer sessions.

The second assignment is much more difficult and probably more time consuming, but you get to work in pairs. Often one student will do all of the coding and the other will do all of the report writing - this is not the best way to do it! Both should try the coding cause it does help, for the final, and for future mech courses where some coding is assumed knowledge!

The lectures are actually pretty good but its difficult to take notes. You're best to watch them online and do the coding with PJ the lecture, as he teaches really good coding techniques and practices. It also helps heaps for the final exam question where you are asked to write the code for something (worth a lot of marks). The question we got on the final was nearly the same as a coding example he did in the lecture so that helped heaps.

I also recommend actually doing the workbook extracts the way that PJ suggests: print out your code and stick it in a workbook. Annotate it. It helps you learn and gets you basically full marks on every workbook extract so long as you have done everything they asked.

To learn numerical methods, the lectures help but instead I would recommend 'Numerical Methods Guy' on YouTube. He saved me in the lead up to the final.

Overall the final is actually pretty good and not too hard if you studied properly for it. There aren't any little tricks here and there. If you study for it, you will be fine.

Semester taken

Semester 2 - 2015

Your program/major

Mechanical Engineering

Is lecture attendance necessary?

Not necessary but definitely helps

Is the textbook necessary?

No

Positives
  • Really interesting, good introduction into python
  • Good assignments that help learning
  • Friendly teaching staff
Negatives
  • Assignments take a long time
  • Lots of workbook extracts which are time consuming
  • In the busy computer sessions, more tutors are required
Posted on June 10, 2017 12:16 pm
Anonymous
   
MECH2700 – Engineering Analysis I 63.4

As of 2015, this course focuses on using Python 3.x.x to solve systems of equations, interpolation, differentiation, integration, ODE's, etc. using different numerical methods. I agree with mostly everything in previous reviews written in 2015.

The lectures were taught by Peter Jacobs and Rowan Gollan and focus mainly on the derivation of methods and how they would be implemented in Python. There is a knowledge gap however to being able to do the method by hand. This makes for learning how to implement this method by software almost impossible to follow. The lecturers have different teaching styles but delivered good, but very dry, content.

Assessment consisted two assignments, workbook extracts and a final exam. Assignment 1 was simple enough and focused mainly on using the software. Assignment 2 was more difficult and focused on one of the methods taught in class (in 2015 this was Gauss-Jordan elimination). Both of these exams were fairly straightforward once you wrap your head around it. The workbook extracts were a bit of a mess and led to lots of people complaining they were hard done by. For me personally, they were fairly simple and I was possibly marked a little generously . The final exam was very similar to previous years which makes for a good outcome.

My advice to anyone about to undertake this course is to firstly read the lecture notes through before going to the lecture. Then check out an example of how the method is done by hand by watching "numericalmethodsguy" on Youtube. These videos are excellent and are generally only 5-10mins long. It's impossible to be able to code these methods without being able to do them by hand first! Once you can do that, the rest of the course is a piece of cake and very enjoyable.

Semester taken

Semester 2 - 2015

Your program/major

BE (Mech Aero)

Is lecture attendance necessary?

Moderately

Is the textbook necessary?

No

Positives
  • Numerical methods are a nice way of solving things that we've been doing in maths for years.
Negatives
  • Most tutors were unhelpful.
  • Tutorial activities became incredibly difficult and time consuming,
  • No solutions to tutorial activities.
Posted on December 18, 2015 6:30 pm
Anonymous
   
MECH2700 – Engineering Analysis I 61.4

I give this feedback after getting my results back knowing I missed my 7 by less than 2%.

The subject has interesting content and can be taught really well. Unfortunately it's not.

Assignment 1 was very easy, however very time consuming. You write your code, do it well and get it done early. Then they tell you. Oh you did task * properly? You could have just I putted random numbers till it worked. (Even though that's not coding). My grade for that had to be remarked. The difference in grades I got questions if the tutor even opened my assignment code or PDF. I had reason to believe it was just scrolled through but the head tutor denied to consider it and offered to just remark it. Getting nearly full marks for it. I was happy.
Assignment 2 was much easier once you know what they look for.
Workbook extracts. Easy full marks.
Exams. You can either pay attention in the lectures, or just never bother to go. The content can be learnt off YouTube in a few hours. Yes. I missed my 7 by one multichoice or one grade in communication on my assignment. But it's very possible to get a 7.

Just be prepared for inconsistent marking of assignments, nearly everyone argues their mark and gets remarked. Be prepared to get screwed over by Sam Hanes.

He posted a status on the Facebook page that he pointed out to Peter Jacobs which questions were repeated from previous years and asked to put unseen questions for multi choice section. Evidently, that a**hole has no respect from Academics either, all multichoice on this years paper were very similar to past years if not the same.

All in all, put in the time, and give them what they want. Don't do it the right way, do it their way. It's much easier to do their stuff last minute. Easy 7 if you apply your self.

The numerical methods content very interesting.
Get online access to 'Numerical Methods of Python by Jaan'. It's the perfect textbook.

Semester taken

Semester 2 - 2015

Your program/major

BE/ME Mech.

Is lecture attendance necessary?

Kind of.

Is the textbook necessary?

Online access. Yes.

Positives
  • Some Tutors were very good and helpful.
  • Numerical Methods.
Negatives
  • Some tutors were clueless. You really had to find out which tutors were at which session.
  • Sam Hanes. Difficult person to get a straight answer from.
Posted on December 4, 2015 2:04 am
Anonymous
   
MECH2700 – Engineering Analysis I 60.1

This course has its ups and downs. The tute sheets which you have to submit extractions from every couple of weeks. The criteria for these are quite vague and usually you don't know how the tutors want you to answer the questions properly until after you get them back. There are also no solutions to these tute sheets so you could spend the countless hours doing them and not know how well you did.

The lectures are okay, they just focused on derivations and the theory behind the numerical methods as opposed to worked examples and actually how to use them.

There are also the assignments, that initially needed a little bit more guidance on how to approach them, as well as some consistency with the marking. Multiple assignments could be extremely similar in style and content and receive marks ranging from a fail to a good grade depending on the tutor (From personal experience in having an assignment remarked).

The final exam was good in the way that they didn't throw wild curve balls for no reason but most of the learning is done by yourself or with your peers.

The main negative would be the main tutor Sam Haynes, with his lack of respect and condescending attitude towards the students, aiming to belittle and stress us out as opposed to helping us. The other tutors were helpful and approachable, and seeming like they want to be there (*cough Mitch Dunn cough*).

Overall a potentially interesting course with some confusing assessment and one tutor bad egg.

Semester taken

Semester 2 - 2015

Your program/major

BE

Is lecture attendance necessary?

No

Is the textbook necessary?

No

Positives
  • Some helpful tutors
  • Potentially interesting content
  • No final exam curveballs
Negatives
  • Sam Haynes
  • Lack of learning content solutions
  • Lectures focused on derivations more then examples
Posted on November 24, 2015 12:07 pm
Anonymous
   
MECH2700 – Engineering Analysis I 31.6

The lectures were very boring and I did not learn anything from them. If there could be course notes and 2 lectures a week are taught from them teaching the approximation methods etc and the third lecture of the week teaches coding. Also Sam Hames shouldn't be a tutor. Tutors are there to help you pass and to help you learn the course not to try to make sure you fail. He refused to help when asked on how to do well on the workbook extracts and would continuously be little us when we asked questions. There are also no answers to the tutorials to help you study.

Semester taken

Semester 1 - 2015

Your program/major

Mechanical

Is lecture attendance necessary?

no

Is the textbook necessary?

no

Positives No positive points
Negatives
  • No answers for tuts
  • Bad tutors
  • Boring lectures
Posted on November 14, 2015 1:44 pm
Anonymous
   
MECH2700 – Engineering Analysis I 67.9

When I took MECH2700, it was a subject that was like an enigma; I never knew what to expect and having a bit of previous experience with coding, I didn't know how to use Python code. Needless to say, I have finished this course with a better appreciation of how many tedious approximation methods can be applied and simplified into about half a page of code. I also still use Python as a tool to solve a number of problems which require calculation after calculation.

So in case you have not figured it out already, this course revolves around the use of Python 3.4.1 and teaches you how to apply a large number of approximation methods and other useful calculations in inconvenient scenarios. I had a lot of mixed feelings going through this course, but having received a 7, I feel that the good certainly outweighs the bad. If you have no idea what Python code is, you need not worry as an introduction to coding will occupy the first four weeks of the semester. After that, it becomes sheer, hard work and you must keep on top of your game. After the first four weeks and with the exception of the assignment lectures, the lecture streams become quite uninformative and dull, and you can easily pick this up another time. All of the approximation methods which are taught in this course seemed very complicated and difficult to understand with no concrete examples to refer to. But with the luxury of YouTube, this is easily mitigated as you can pick up a lot of this in a very short time (most of these methods are shown by NumericalMethodsGuy on YouTube). Either way, make sure you keep up with the work as catching up is not the best strategy.

While some of the lectures are redundant, the tutorials are an absolute must. Talk and make friends with people in this subject if you haven't already as it is a very hard subject to get a good result in if you decide to go solo. All of the assessment in MECH2700 (except the final) will come down to a lot of collaboration and talking about how to solve a variety of problems. You have five logbook checks (don't worry, they're only one or two questions on a tutee sheet) which you need to submit every two weeks or so which are fairly straight forward if you know what you are doing and don't over-complicate it. The real struggle lies within the assignments which take up a quarter of your overall grade and they can take a long, long time. The shining light that somehow exists in the depths of engineering is that you are able to submit assignments in pairs which is essentially warranted given how much time you will spend doing it alone. And a big word of advice for these assignments: start at least two weeks early so that you can execute your code correctly and have time to write a quality report. There are also a number of helpful tutors who know their stuff and will gladly help you at your disposal. I found that working with people in this subject was the key to success as coding can be problematic and time-consuming at the best of times.

The final of the exam was a real enigma. It was never discussed what was on the exam in the lectures and the word "exam" wasn't even used until the last lecture. The past papers are always a strong indicator and my year was no different. It was strange for such a code-oriented course that it would end up being an exam on mainly approximation methods. But a lot of this stuff can be picked up very easily if you are good with numbers (which I assume you are, considering you are an engineering student) but going over the logic behind some of the coding and definitions of specifics is highly recommended. Studying in groups usually resolves a lot of this but finding a number of examples online and completing the past exams are the best ways of doing well on the final stretch.

Semester taken

Semester 2 - 2014

Your program/major

BE(Mech)

Is lecture attendance necessary?

If you are not familiar with Python code, go for the first half of the semester.

Is the textbook necessary?

No, but can be handy as a reference.

Positives
  • Python programming is a valuable skill to be used outside MECH2700
  • Easy subject if you work with people
  • Helpful tutors
Negatives
  • Lecturers over-complicate material
  • Final exam was unrelated with a large part of the course (coding)
  • Lecturers would sometimes leave problems unsolved or wouldn't provide hints to solve them
Posted on December 3, 2014 11:34 pm
Anonymous
   
MECH2700 – Engineering Analysis I 82.3

For most students, this course is the first look at coding and numerical problem solving and does the job well. The earlier part of the course does very well to get everybody up to speed with the fundamentals of coding, reinforced well by the exercise sheets and lab sessions. However, this breaks down after around week 4 when numerical methods are introduced as students are then thrown in the deep end - able to perform most basic coding but not quite enough to be able to perform the tasks at hand - at which point most students switch off not being able to follow what's being taught. The assignments and exercise problems are good and follow logically from what is taught in lectures and lab sessions but the final exam feels disconnected from the rest of the course, focusing on topics that were only briefly introduced. Overall it's a relatively easy course which is mostly hindered by its ease - students taking this course often take MECH2210 and MECH2100 alongside it which are substantially harder - causing most students to focus their energy on harder courses only to later realise they've missed learning a lot in MECH2700.

Semester taken

Semester 2 - 2014

Your program/major

Mechanical Engineering

Is lecture attendance necessary?

You don\'t want to miss any lecture content, but you\'re unlikely to learn much from going to lectures

Is the textbook necessary?

No Textbook

Positives
  • Lab sessions are very helpful
  • Assignments are interesting
  • Fantastic tutors
Negatives
  • Lectures become boring and hard to follow 1/3 into the course
  • Numerical methods section is poorly taught in lectures
  • Final exam doesn't tie in well with the rest of the course
Posted on November 11, 2014 4:27 pm
Imran Yusuf
   
MECH2700 – Engineering Analysis I 86.9

This course was a stand out to me as it was my introduction to code and iterative methods which I was able to use for the design projects in MECH2100.

Semester taken

Semester 2 - 2014

Your program/major

Mechanical Engineering

Is lecture attendance necessary?

Yes

Is the textbook necessary?

Depends

Positives No positive points
Negatives No negative points
Posted on November 10, 2014 6:51 pm
Anonymous
   
MECH2700 – Engineering Analysis I 92.6

Interesting course content which was taught effectively and thoroughly. Tutorial sessions were incredibly helpful for further understanding of material and assessment.

Semester taken

Semester 2 - 2014

Your program/major

Mechatronic Engineering

Is lecture attendance necessary?

Moderately

Is the textbook necessary?

No

Positives
  • Easy software (for people familiar)
  • Simply builds on mathematic skills
Negatives No negative points
Posted on November 9, 2014 11:12 pm

Submit your own review

Please make sure to read our Review Guidelines before posting a review.

<