menu

Rating

Total average

76.6/100

Learning Materials ( 84.4 )
Learning Activities ( 68.8 )
Blackboard Management ( 83.1 )
Course Content ( 76.3 )
Course Structure ( 76.8 )
Contact Availability ( 88.8 )
Course Difficulty ( 42.3 )

Reviews (8)

Anonymous
   
POLS1301 – Introduction to Political Ideas 75.7

Barbara provides a wonderful snapshot throughout this course of basic political ideologies. She is very interactive with students during lectures by asking opinions and discussions. Despite she has very strong views on certain areas tries very hard to not be bias. She is also very understanding when it comes to making exceptions for assessment or anything.

Easy marks with turning up to tutorials and the discussion paper (write 500 words that could be related is full marks). Lots of help with the assignment for my tutor and lecture by giving full in-depth step by step guide of what to write. Biggest downside to this course was the take-home exam, think I stat there in bewilderment most of the time while completing it.

Semester taken

Semester 1 - 2015

Your program/major

Bachelor of Arts/ Communication

Is lecture attendance necessary?

No

Is the textbook necessary?

nope, all online

Positives
  • lecture and tutors are very helpful
  • 'freebie' marks
  • good content
Negatives
  • take-home exam is very vague
  • lectures can seem a little drawn out at times
Posted on October 13, 2015 11:54 am
Anonymous
   
POLS1301 – Introduction to Political Ideas 72.9

I feel the previous reviews sum it up nicely.

Barbara is great at making sure her recordings and resources are all up on blackboard. She is also very approachable and willing to help out with your report if you need it and is very understanding of first year students and that they're still adjusting to Uni.

As others have noted, you can get your 50 marks to pass before the exam (or at least very close to it) if you go to the tutes, hand in the tute paper there and put effort into the report.

But the take home exam is an absolute nightmare for the reasons noted. The questions were either incredibly vague and hard to know exactly what she wanted from you, or they were really specific and based on a tiny detail from the lectures and it was hard to write 200 words of substance on them because they could be answered in a sentence.

Semester taken

Semester 1 - 2014

Your program/major

Law/Arts

Is lecture attendance necessary?

No

Is the textbook necessary?

N/A

Positives
  • No Textbook
  • Approachable and Organised lecturer
  • 'Freebie' Tute participation marks
Negatives
  • Awful take home exam
Posted on July 31, 2015 4:15 pm
Anonymous
   
POLS1301 – Introduction to Political Ideas 86.9

The good about this course: The marking set up means it's easy to get a good mark with a little effort. There are tutorial participation marks, the tute paper is a 10/10 if you show up to the tute and have written 500 words vaguely on topic, the lecturer will check your research paper is on the right track and tell you what to fix and the exam is a take home exam where you get the questions 2 weeks in advance. Anyone who half tried got a 6 or 7.

The downside? The exam questions were vague and like the previous review,you had to go and listen to all the old lectures to study for it. And as to be expected from any Political Arts course, it is a haven for left wing greens voting students to have a platform to diss the LNP. My tutor who should have been encouraging open and balanced discussion only ever wanted to hear the comments of her 'pet' student......her fellow far left wing greens voting radical feminist and she was allowed and even encouraged by our tutor to interrupt every time a more right wing student offered an opinion.

Semester taken

Semester 1 - 2014

Your program/major

Law/Arts

Is lecture attendance necessary?

No

Is the textbook necessary?

N/A

Positives
  • Recorded Lectures so no need to attend.
  • No textbook
  • Assessment makes it easy to get good marks
Negatives
  • Tutors heavily biased towards favouring left wing student.
  • Vague exam
Posted on June 10, 2015 1:00 am
Anonymous
   
POLS1301 – Introduction to Political Ideas 82.1

Interesting course content with good tutors (at least in my case) and the lecturer is very approachable, friendly and helpful. Will give a lot of useful feedback on your research paper if you go and see her about it during her contact hours. If you're willing to put in a bit of effort for the paper, it's easy to score well on it.

Also nice: you can get 18 'easy freebie' marks for going to all 8 tutes and writing a peer marked tute paper where you get the full 10 marks simply for showing up that day with 500 words in response to the reading. Tutors don't even read them, another student just checks you did and and signs you off for a 10.

The big drawback/annoyance of this course is the take home exam. It's not really a test of whether you understand the key concepts of the main ideologies, but rather, it's a test of whether you were willing to download all the lecture recordings and go through every single one of them to find the one sentence you need to be able to answer some very vague question she's given you, because most of the questions were based on a small detail dropped in randomly, not an actual key concept. Some of the questions required a fair bit of guesswork and for a few of them, I basically rewrote the same sentence 5 times because there simply wasn't 200 words you could write in response to a very direct, closed question.

Still, it's a very easy 7 if you're willing to dedicate 2 days of SWOTVAC to re-listening to the lectures, show up to all the tutes and do the incredibly easy tute paper and then put a bit of effort into the research paper.

Semester taken

Semester 2 - 2014

Your program/major

LLB/BART

Is lecture attendance necessary?

No: good recordings.

Is the textbook necessary?

N/A

Positives
  • Excellent blackboard management
  • Teaching staff very willing to help
  • Easy 18 marks on offer for simply showing up to tutes
Negatives
  • Horrible vague exam that is a nightmare to study for
Posted on June 8, 2015 6:13 pm
Matthew
   
POLS1301 – Introduction to Political Ideas 75.0

It's almost a pity you HAVE to do this course if you want to study politics or peace & conflict studies etc. I found the course content pretty good, I also found that the readings for each week were very well picked and interesting.

Unfortunately the lecturer drove me crazy, having students talk to each other multiply times per lecture about their own views, so I stopped going to lectures after week 2 and just listened to them at home, it also helped that I could skip all the annoying questions and listen to it in 1.5x speed because the lecturer speaks extremely slowly!

Definitely the worst part about the course though was the exam paper, None of the questions were clear, I don't know why a straight question couldn't have been asked. It wasn't really a test of your knowledge of the course, more a cryptic crossword. No other student I have talked to from this course thought any different.

Semester taken

Semester 1 - 2014

Your program/major

BA

Is lecture attendance necessary?

Yes

Is the textbook necessary?

N/A

Positives
  • Great course content
Negatives
  • Annoying lectures
  • The worst exam ever
Posted on July 27, 2014 5:47 pm
Anonymous
   
POLS1301 – Introduction to Political Ideas 78.3

The course materials are relatively interesting and the lecturer seems knowledgeable. However, the assessment criteria is vague at best and marks are dropped for no real reason.

Tutors are "unable to give an answer" thus rendering them virtually useless when seeking help. Tutorial discussions are a haven for left wing aligned students (to be expected in an arts course) who clearly made up the vast majority of students. It was clear my tutor was against the Liberal Party of Australia rendering any semblance of non-partisanship in the classroom and made students feel uncomfortable to state their beliefs.

The research assignment was relatively interesting if you make an effort to complete the assignment properly. However, the criteria is poorly written and does not distinguish between a HD and pass very well.

Overall, the course can become an easy 7 if you are very good at essay writing and don't mind vague marking criteria.

Semester taken

Semester 1 - 2014

Your program/major

Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting)

Positives
  • Interesting course
  • Approachable lecturer
Negatives
  • Variable quality in readings
  • Poor assessment criteria
  • Tutors not helpful
Posted on June 25, 2014 5:04 pm
Donna
   
POLS1301 – Introduction to Political Ideas 100.0

The course was very thorough and the materials provided were very helpful. POLS3101 provided me with a very indepth understanding of the political ideologies that have shaped societies in a national and international context. Socialism and Neo-liberalism are the two dominant ideologies that have informed Western political thought in the past 100 years. Neither ideology is inherently good or bad as both hold a considerable degree of merit. Unfortunately contemporary society places a strict value judgment on Socialism, yet fail to realize that there are many aspects of socialism operating in our contemporary political landscape (ie. social welfare benefits, universal health care - public hospitals, government-funded public schooling, HECS/FEE help, the pharmaceutical benefits scheme and Medicare, just to name a few). Socialism isn't functional in its purest form, but we've been able to combine the philosophical aspects of Socialism that do work (ie. egalitarianism, co-operation, team work, fair share) that characterizes a large part of Australian society.

Overall, I found the course very informative. It helped provide me with a solid understanding of political ideologies, and contributed to my knowledge of historical and contemporary politics.

Semester taken

3+ years ago

Your program/major

Political Science

Positives
  • Weekly notes
  • Helpful learning materials
  • Excellent textbook
Negatives
  • Unclear assessment criteria
Posted on March 20, 2014 4:34 pm
Anonymous
   
POLS1301 – Introduction to Political Ideas 41.7

This course was unfortunately very disappointing. It was extremely biased toward Marxism and other radical ideas. I find it wrong that this course is allowed to be slanted towards a political creed that has resulted in genocide and/or mass-murder. We also apparently live in a "free country" where we tolerate opposition, yet I was made to feel extremely uncomfortable by the tutor for holding a view contrary to her own regarding Marxist ideas.

Semester taken

Semester 2 - 2011

Your program/major

Bachelor of Arts

Positives No positive points
Negatives
  • Communist
Posted on February 27, 2014 9:03 pm

Submit your own review

Please make sure to read our Review Guidelines before posting a review.

<