menu

Rating

Total average

66.2/100

Learning Materials ( 74 )
Learning Activities ( 54.7 )
Blackboard Management ( 73.6 )
Course Content ( 76.8 )
Course Structure ( 60.3 )
Contact Availability ( 65.2 )
Course Difficulty ( 58.8 )

Reviews (9)

Anonymous
   
CHEM1100 – Chemistry 1 75.6

Coming from high school chemistry, this course was a frustrating mixture of good lecture content, mediocre lecturers, and terrible prac sessions. Unfortunately this course is required for a number of degrees and majors, so the best advice would be to get through it without letting it affect you too much.

Content/lecturers - Before midsem content was fairly straightforward, and most of it will be revision if you did high school physics. Content after mid sem was also straightforward once you mastered the difficult concepts (and there will come a point where you suddenly understand the formulae you have to use). How well you understand the concepts partially depends on the lecturers you have. About half the lecturers for the course were not effective in explaining complex concepts and spent too much time on the simple stuff. One lifesaver was the POD notes (get them, the $20+ is worth it), considering some lecturers went so fast it was difficult to write everything down. Despite the POD notes, I would still recommend going to the lecturers as they often do past exam questions.

Pracs - I think the general consensus is that the pracs were stressful and useless, and I totally agree. Never did I use prac knowledge to understand lecture content and vice versa. The prelabs were time-consuming, and I spent more time trying to find answers than understand the content. The pracs themselves were rushed, and it wasn't until my last prac of the semester did I actually understand why I was running certain experiments. How good or bad your prac experience is depends heavily on the tutor you get. Mine wasn't very helpful and we were left to fend for ourselves. The report you have to do for the last prac is straightforward provided you read the criteria and follow the report structure.

CROMS - great way to check how much you actually took from the lectures, but the time limit made you more prone to making mistakes. Don't forget to do them, they are a great source of easy marks.

PASS - not compulsory, but I'd highly recommend going. It was the best opportunity to ask for clarification on concepts, and the PASS sheets were immensely helpful for exam prep (although the answers to the PASS sheets were a bit dodgy at times). If you don't like the class you are enrolled it, shop around until you find the one for you.

Exams - midsem was actually a lot harder than I thought it was going to be, and surprisingly found the final easier. Past exam papers (we had to use CHEM1010/1020 ones as the course is so new) and PASS sheets are all the materials you need. Form study groups as well, they're a great opportunity to make friends and sometimes your peers can explain concepts better than the lecturers.

Overall, if you are planning to do biological/chemical majors or your degree requires you to do CHEM1100, then you can't get out of this course. To be honest, this course nearly put me off doing further chemistry (I know many people who avoided CHEM1200 because of CHEM1100), but it is a foundation course and essential for many upper level science courses. Just remember, chemists are fabulous at solving problems because they have all the solutions :P.

Semester taken

Semester 1 - 2015

Your program/major

BSc (Biomedical Science)

Is lecture attendance necessary?

Recommended

Is the textbook necessary?

Nope - I never opened mine

Positives
  • Easier if you've done high school physics
  • Not much assessment
Negatives
  • Pracs are a nightmare
  • Midsem was harder than the final
Posted on February 19, 2016 12:25 am
Dana Larkin
   
CHEM1100 – Chemistry 1 68.7

This course is well put together, with knowledgeable lecturers and very informative course slides. Quite challenging, with an intensive work load. Prac sessions are interesting but very hectic in their nature; due to the many calculations and computer graphs you need to generate and submit by the end of the prac. The ability to succeed in these pracs really depends on the assistance provided by the individual prac tutor, and this is a variability that should be more consistent.

Semester taken

Semester 2 - 2014

Your program/major

Bachelor of Science

Is lecture attendance necessary?

Yes

Is the textbook necessary?

NO

Positives
  • Lecturers
  • Pass sessions
Negatives
  • CROMS
  • Prac
Posted on May 20, 2015 9:05 am
Albert Hofmann
   
CHEM1100 – Chemistry 1 72.9

Very good course. The academics are very knowledgeable and always approachable and helpful.
The content is very interesting (providing you enjoy chemistry) and well taught. I found that the order in which the content was taught somewhat odd and confusing at times. This is my subjective view and others may not feel that way.
I found the labs quite good to be honest; I know that others found the confusing and not related to the content. I disagree. The pracs are very well related to the concept, but require some extra reading and preparation at home. I think that having a few days to prepare the report after the session would be better, giving students 3 hours of hands on lab work. It is a good idea to do some of the work for the lab report at home before the prac in order to save time at the end of the session.

The PASS sessions were very good and the tutors were really helpful and enthusiastic, which is always good.

Overall I must say, that I have really enjoyed this course.

Semester taken

Semester 1 - 2014

Your program/major

Bsc

Is lecture attendance necessary?

not necessarily, but it won\\\'t hurt to go

Is the textbook necessary?

Yes, but any 1 year chemistry will. I used another one and had no issues

Positives
  • Very good lecturers
  • fast responses from teaching staff
  • PASS
Negatives
  • order in which content is taught seems somewhat odd
Posted on October 11, 2014 6:39 pm
Anonymous
   
CHEM1100 – Chemistry 1 84.1

Basically a slightly more in depth overview of high school chemistry with some new stuff that was pretty straight forward

Good pass classes, it was good how all pass sheets had solutions (in some courses they don't)
My pass leaders were really helpful

PRACS ARE SO STRESSFUL
They have little relevance to lectures and it turns out they had no importance regarding the exam
The booklet questions were so random and difficult and often required google
There was barely any time to satisfactorily complete the prac and booklet in 3 hours

Both the midsem and final were surprisingly easy

I had Jo Blanchfield - funny, good and engaging, Michael Montiero - constantly talked about the story of how he won a beer, other than that he was good and engaging, Mark Reilly-really really good and did really cool redox reactions in lectures including the gherkin hooked up to a 200v battery by alligator clips and 2 forks

CROMs were a pain but only because I was kind of behind in lectures but answers were easily Googleable
The online activities/videos that you 'had to do' before CROMS were unnecessary and annoying
But I liked how if you get more that 75% in all CROMs you get a bonus 1%
and I also liked how completing a survey on the CHEM1100 course also gives you a bonus 1%

Semester taken

Semester 1 - 2014

Your program/major

Bsc

Is lecture attendance necessary?

not really

Is the textbook necessary?

not really

Positives
  • good pass leaders and worksheets with solutions
  • good lecturers
  • straight forward content
Negatives
  • stressful pracs with difficult prac questions and not enough time
  • prac content was not relevant to the course
  • stressful prelabs
Posted on September 30, 2014 10:40 am
Anonymous
   
CHEM1100 – Chemistry 1 87.5

The first half of the semester has very little new content, it is essentially a review of high school chemistry. The midsem is a lot easier than expected.

The second half is really interesting, and extends upon topics which students should have studied in high school. There are a lot of fiddly equations that can trip you up on units and the like but double (and triple) checking should take care of that.

The lectures are engaging and well prepared, but the course notes are so comprehensive you don't need to attend lectures. Announcements are made weekly on Bb and email reminding you of upcoming tasks, and there are weekly podiums for you to ask questions.

My PASS class had terrible tutors, but the students all worked with each other to help and that was okay.

CROM quizzes are simple, with 2 hours to complete 4 questions, and access to google and your notes.

The pracs are definitely the worst part of the course. Prelab quizzes are confusing and seem unneccessary. I recommend reading the process of the prac thoroughly the day before. The tutors are pot luck, mine was amazingly helpful and is the reason I did so well, but others are stubborn and refuse to help, denying you the chance of getting good marks. I also recommend photographing your pracs, as prelabs test info from past pracs and you hand in the answers and don't get them back in time.

You are not retested on midsem content in the final exam (always a bonus), and with solid revision during SWOTVAC you should be fine. Take great care with units, they can be misleading. Past papers (we had to use CHEM1020 ones) are very helpful and allow you to see where you made errors.

Overall a great course, with the exception of pracs which perhaps need more guidance. Easy to do well in and very interesting.

Semester taken

Semester 1 - 2014

Your program/major

BE/BSc

Is lecture attendance necessary?

No, if you look at the lecture slides

Is the textbook necessary?

Definitely not

Positives
  • Comprehensive course notes
  • Simple CROMs
  • Easy midsem exam and doable final exam
Negatives
  • PASS and lab tutors can be awful
  • Pracs are difficult and largely unguided
  • Silly mistakes with units can cost you precious marks
Posted on July 16, 2014 3:57 pm
Kishen Sukumar
   
CHEM1100 – Chemistry 1 53.8

I found the topics taught to be really interesting; albeit sometimes abruptly stops before something completely new is thought. It may have to do with filling up the course content. Even so, the content is interesting to say the least if you kept on top of things. The lecturers are mostly good at what they teach, though you can easily learn almost everything from the lecture slides (which is amazingly thorough). You have to do CROM (an online quiz) every week, which can be a pain if you're as forgetful as I am, but it kept you on track of whatever content that was taught that week.

The worst part of this subject is it's practicals are annoyingly hectic. It's 3 hours of confusion and rushed labwork with little time for the appreciation of what's actually going on. You have to answer questions based on the labwork done, giving you marks for the individual lab assessment which can be quite painful if you messed up your experiment. I just found it to be one of the worst practicals in almost any first year subject because they expect you to be on top of things as well as well versed with the experimental details in such a short period of time.

Semester taken

Semester 1 - 2014

Your program/major

BSc (Biomed)

Positives
  • Very interesting content
  • Some really great lecturers
  • The content wraps up really well by the end of the semester
Negatives
  • Pracs are annoyingly easy to stuff up
  • Can be dry and dull at times
Posted on July 11, 2014 9:39 pm
Anonymous
   
CHEM1100 – Chemistry 1 52.7

pracs are a pain; they feel to drag for ages and concepts ate often poorly explained by your lab tutor. I always dreaded it every two weeks. Nether the less, they are not difficult and you'll so get a good mark if you don't complete all of the calculations.
My PASS leaders were not very helpful and I felt like I was in a terrible learning environment. Thank goodness PASS was not compulsory.
Jack Klegg (I think that is his name) was a great lecturer and his review sheets were helpful. I also liked the text book.
CROMs were annoying because there was no leniency in answers.
Midsemster exam was easy and the final was 35 questions, 25 were multi choice.

Semester taken

Semester 1 - 2014

Your program/major

Bsc/Ba

Positives
  • had a great lecturers
  • easy mid semester exam
  • PASS class was not compulsory
Negatives
  • Lab sessions
  • answering CROM questions
  • PASS class
Posted on June 24, 2014 11:35 pm
Anonymous
   
CHEM1100 – Chemistry 1 58.2

The prac component was very stressful and the sessions were rushed and always difficult to get everything done on time. The prelab quizzes were not overly difficult but quite time consuming. Set reminders for your CROM's because it's very easy to forget about them. Google any question you don't know it will usually be there. The lecture content was fairly interesting and the pass worksheets were fantastic for exam prep. Very easy midsem exam and the low 40% weighting of the EOS makes it a bit less stressful.

Semester taken

Semester 1 - 2014

Your program/major

Bachelor of Science - Biomed major

Positives
  • PASS Sheets
  • Lecture content/ Engaging lecturer
  • Easy Midsem
Negatives
  • Prelab's
  • Easy to forget to do CROM's
  • Everything about the prac's
Posted on June 24, 2014 10:05 pm
Mark
   
CHEM1100 – Chemistry 1 42.3

you can Google pretty much every online question (CROM and Prelab) and find it pasted into yahoo answers at some point. The labs are full of of rushed lab work, terrible tutors, and unexplained chemistry with no links to the lectures. The lecturers are quite good and the pass sheets helpful, all know how to use the recording equipment for echocentre . Mid term is insanely easy for some reason given the difficult subject matter

Semester taken

Semester 1 - 2014

Your program/major

biotech

Positives
  • standard chem knowledge
  • plenty of good lecturers and streams
  • no overly difficult assignments
Negatives
  • labs are horrible
  • CROMS are useless
  • Prelabs are a joke
Posted on June 12, 2014 12:31 am

Submit your own review

Please make sure to read our Review Guidelines before posting a review.

<