menu

Rating

Total average

48.6/100

Helpfulness ( 44.9 )
Clarity ( 40.1 )
Easiness ( 42 )
Approachability ( 62 )
Organisation ( 50.1 )
Availability ( 52.7 )

Reviews (7)

Anonymous
   
Dr Carlos Oyarzun 100.0

Cared about the students and taught the content thoroughly.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

ECON1050

Positives
  • Great Teacher
  • Very Approachable
Negatives
  • None
Posted on March 12, 2017 6:26 pm
Panuwat Tanticharoen
   
Dr Carlos Oyarzun 100.0

I've taken a lot of courses in my life but Dr.Carlos has undoubtedly been the best both in my life and at UQ. He is so approachable that whenever I email any questions, he swiftly replied with detail explanation with willingness. When it comes to assessment I found out that he is very flexible and open-minded so this really reduces my tension for the exam (while other lecturers tend to set a uniform solution and give 0 mark for any answers different that although it's correct).

After finishing the course, he was the only one who was happy to be my referee and he paid a lot of attention when doing this although I know he's very busy with his upcoming teaching. He is very delicate and dedicates teacher. As an overseas student from other countries, I really feel grateful for all good things that he's done for an ordinary student like me to have an inspiration to continue my study here.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

ECON1050

Positives No positive points
Negatives No negative points
Posted on July 20, 2015 1:26 pm
Greg
   
Dr Carlos Oyarzun 5.7

I've come accross bad lecturers, but it won't get any worse than him.
He has made this course unnecessarily hard by making poor exam papers, also HE DOESN'T GIVE US A FORMULA SHEET!
Very poor teaching skills and I wonder how this person got into UQ.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

ECON1050

Positives No positive points
Negatives
  • No formula sheet for exam
  • Bad teaching
  • Made the course difficult
Posted on October 15, 2014 9:52 am
Anonymous
   
Dr Carlos Oyarzun 2.8

A useless bag of crap!

He is a very lazy person. Doesn't make his own tutes/lectures. Doesn't put any effort into teaching. Always gives textbook references in tutes instead of putting the entire question (not all students have text books!).
And finally he doesn't know how to make a paper as he puts higher weights into questions that don't require a lot of working.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

ECON1050

Positives
  • Nothing
Negatives
  • Lazy
  • Doesn\'t know how to make an exam paper
  • Cant speak properly!
Posted on October 12, 2014 6:25 pm
Anonymous
   
Dr Carlos Oyarzun 78.5

He is very flexible and open-minded when it comes to assessment. Although I used unusual style of writing in my exam (but with correct methods) he still accepted and give me great marks.

This course is pretty rewarding as you get more after you study hard (unlike some courses such as LING1005 that no matter how hard you study it still yield zero rewards and knowledge ).

He is also enthusiastic about upcoming lectures. He posts many helpful stuff on a regular basis to keep me motivated.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

ECON1050

Positives
  • Enthusiasm
  • Open-minded
  • Polite
Negatives
  • accent a bit difficult to listen but that's doesn't matter
Posted on October 7, 2014 7:36 pm
Matthew
   
Dr Carlos Oyarzun 22.0

My one piece of advice to you, if Dr. Oyarzun is teaching your class next semester, don't do it, wait till next semester and hopefully you'll have someone else. Not only will you not learn anything from the lectures and have to teach yourself the course (with the help of excellent tutors), but you'll also feel like you don't have the required knowledge to progress through your degree. I'm sure Dr. Oyarzun knows exactly what he's talking about, and I don't question his mathematical ability, but there is not a trace of teaching ability.

As an example of his ability, we had a question in our mid semester exam that was taught the week after the exam. Just what you want.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

ECON1050

Positives No positive points
Negatives
  • Bad assessment
  • Terrible Lectures
Posted on September 30, 2014 2:13 pm
Anonymous
   
Dr Carlos Oyarzun 31.5

Very bad lecturer.

Lazy, doesn't know what he is talking about, poor time management and 'says one thing but gives another' (especially for the mid semster exam).

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

ECON1050

Positives
  • None
Negatives
  • Lazy
  • Unclear
  • Poor time management
Posted on September 7, 2014 10:33 pm

Submit your own review

Please make sure to read our Review Guidelines before posting a review.

<