menu

Laurel Johnson

Faculty Planning & Environmental Management
Courses Taught PLAN1101, PLAN2000, PLAN4010
Contact Email -
Phone Number -
Office -
Submit reviewView reviews (16)

Rating

Total average

94.5/100

Helpfulness ( 93.6 )
Clarity ( 91.3 )
Easiness ( 96.3 )
Approachability ( 98.8 )
Organisation ( 94.6 )
Availability ( 92.3 )

Reviews (16)

Anonymous
   
Laurel Johnson 100.0

Laurel has been by far one of the best lecturers that I have had so far. She helped make the transition from high school to uni much easier for me. She was passionate about the topics which made the courses more interesting and fun to learn about. Overall, an excellent and amazing lecturer.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

PLAN1001, PLAN1101

Positives
  • approachable
  • wide knowledge base
  • passionate
Negatives No negative points
Posted on October 16, 2014 6:26 pm
Anonymous
   
Laurel Johnson 100.0

I'm a 4th year planner and Laurel is by far the best lecturer I've had. I found her engaging and entertaining and she always explains everything in great detail. One of the reviews below claim she reads straight from the slides which is true but she always has amazingly detailed slides (great if you miss a lecture) and always elaborates on any dot points that are not glaringly obvious. I undertook her classes while working full time and she was so accommodating and flexible towards my situation. I've achieved v high marks in all her classes.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

All planning courses

Positives
  • Great at explaining & patient
  • Passionate
  • Provides lots of supporting docs
Negatives No negative points
Posted on July 18, 2014 4:28 pm
Aidan
   
Laurel Johnson 95.3

Laurel is definitely one of the best lecturers I have had a university, if not the best. She is so enthusiastic about planning and teaching and is very friendly and approachable. Laurel goes out of way to help students whether it is in class or outside of it. She has been extremely helpful to me with my studies and also in finding work experience. I only wish she was more involved in some of the later courses of the planning degree as I really enjoyed her classes and teaching style.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

multiple planning courses

Positives
  • Friendly and approachable
  • Enthusiastic about planning and teaching
  • Knowledgeable
Negatives No negative points
Posted on July 18, 2014 2:34 pm
Anonymous
   
Laurel Johnson 99.2

Laurel has an amazing ability to provide great depth of insight into topics that would otherwise confuse and escape most people. Her enthusiasm for the topics she teaches shines through and allows her students to gain the best knowledge about planning topics.

She frequently provides extra perspective and insight into the material that is not on the slides, which is why I am wondering what the first two reviews on his profile are about.

She sometimes speaks a little bit too fast for someone doing first year courses, but it could be a good way to wake the students up and remind them they are in university. She is very helpful and runs the course very very well.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

PLAN1001

Positives No positive points
Negatives No negative points
Posted on July 18, 2014 2:20 pm
Anonymous
   
Laurel Johnson 96.7

Laurel is one of the few lecturers who loves what she does. She is helpful, passionate and always willing to chat. Why she isn't head of planning is beyond me.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

Plan1003

Positives No positive points
Negatives No negative points
Posted on July 18, 2014 1:56 pm
Jackie hunter
   
Laurel Johnson 100.0

Having had laurel as both a teacher and a colleague a number of times, I can say that Laurel far exceeds what is required of her as a lecturer, helping not only myself, but many other students in her own subjects as well as other subjects within the BRTP course at UQ. She is always friendly and approachable and will go out of her way to help others achieve to a high standard.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

Many subjects with laurel

Positives
  • Willingness to help
  • Approachability
  • Knowledge base
Negatives No negative points
Posted on July 18, 2014 1:22 pm
Anonymous
   
Laurel Johnson 100.0

Laurel is a wonderful lecturer who inspires many of her students and is regarded amongst them as being one of, if not THE best planning lecturer at UQ.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

Every good planning course ever

Positives No positive points
Negatives No negative points
Posted on July 18, 2014 1:16 pm
Anonymous
   
Laurel Johnson 97.5

Laurel is a fantastic lecturer and has always offered great guidance to myself and my peers throughout my degree so far. She is easy to talk to and get a hold of to help with any problems and assist wherever she can.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

Many Core PLAN subjects

Positives
  • Passionate
  • Helpful
  • Intelligent
Negatives No negative points
Posted on July 18, 2014 12:02 pm
Isaac
   
Laurel Johnson 100.0

Laurel is one of the few lecturers i have come across who is passionate about planning and does a great job of imparting that same enthusiasm on many of her students. You can tell that she enjoys teaching and has always made time for me when i have needed her, whether it be for assessment in one of her courses, or when i needed a reference for job applications and study abroad. Laurel is an asset to the planning department at UQ and i am grateful to have been taught by her during my time studying a Bachelor of Regional and Town Planning

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

PLAN1003, PLAN2004

Positives
  • Always has time for her students, even for unrelated matters
  • Is passionate not only about planning but also about teaching
  • Her classes based around workshops give great feedback on drafts
Negatives
  • She doesn't take courses past second year
  • She isn't head of the Planning at UQ
Posted on July 18, 2014 10:59 am
Erin
   
Laurel Johnson 87.5

I always found Laurel to be incredibly passionate about her work and the content she was providing to students. She was always engaging, and provided more than enough course information and extra little notes that she uploaded to blackboard. I don't know if her teaching style has changed since I took her courses, but to me she has always stood out as one of the most approachable and enthusiastic planning lecturers.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

PLAN1001, PLAN2000

Positives
  • Always available
  • Approachable
  • Interesting course content
Negatives No negative points
Posted on July 18, 2014 10:41 am
Anonymous
   
Laurel Johnson 94.2

Laurel is by far the best lecturer I have ever had.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

PLAN1001, PLAN2004, PLAN1003

Positives
  • understanding
  • proactive
  • worthwhile
Negatives
  • occasionally hard to access
Posted on July 18, 2014 10:30 am
Zac Russell-Sharam
   
Laurel Johnson 98.2

Let me start by stating that Laurel Johnson is fantastic lecturer that excels in her role as both a lecturer for those new to planning and in her mentoring capabilities for older students.
Her knowledge and expertise in Social Planning is unparalleled and allows her to be an approachable person that is committed to providing the best and more importantly, correct answers to those in need when they need it.
Overall her most admirable quality is that she continuing seeks new and innovative ways to adapt her course to better engage students.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

Plan1001 Plan1101

Positives
  • Approachable
  • Intelligent
  • Engaging
Negatives
  • None
Posted on July 18, 2014 10:21 am
Max (fourth year BRTP honours student)
   
Laurel Johnson 95.8

@Katie: I am not sure what year you are in but I am currently a fourth year student undertaking a bachelor of regional town planning and after reading your comment I found it very hard to believe that Laurel simply 'reads off the slides'. Over the period of three and a half years along with countless courses run by Laurel, I consider her the most insightful and enthusiastic lecturer in planning within UQ. I found that even the most bland content could be made more interesting and often applied to the real world of planning through Laurel's teaching style. How could you possibly make a comment stating that 'most of her lectures consisted of her reading off slides' when you went to a total of two?.

@Anonymous: I find that blackboard is a useful resource for when lecturers are addressing content quickly (as you are well aware that there is no lack of, in planning courses). I feel the second half of your comment is much more suitable leading me to wonder how a person with those attributes is simply reading of slides.

I urge that people reading or posting reviews on this forum, really consider holding their opinions until they really give the lecture, the courses, (in my case), a chance. I will also note that Laurel has personally given me her time outside of class offering advice and help with various assignments and forms within GEOS6001 this year.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

PLAN2000 (amongst many others)

Positives No positive points
Negatives No negative points
Posted on July 18, 2014 10:21 am
Anonymous
   
Laurel Johnson 100.0

She is amazing and definitely the best planning lecturer. She will go out of her way to help students in any way she can. 10/10

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

PLANeverything

Positives No positive points
Negatives No negative points
Posted on July 18, 2014 10:16 am
Katie
   
Laurel Johnson 75.0

I only attended maybe two of these lectures due to the fact that Ms Johnson didn't really add any more content onto what's in the slides. Most lectures consisted of her reading the slides out so I just read them on Blackboard.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

PLAN1001

Positives
  • Approachable
  • Friendly
Negatives
  • Just reads out the slides
Posted on June 19, 2014 2:26 pm
Anonymous
   
Laurel Johnson 72.2

She reads from the slides and contributes little extra insight into the topics being discussed. Not only this, but she reads very fast and makes it difficult to keep up with the material.

With this being said, she is very approachable and easy going. She is very enthusiastic about the work she does and knows a lot about the subjects.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

PLAN1001

Positives
  • Approachable
  • Enthusiasti
Negatives
  • Reads from slides
  • Talks really fast
Posted on May 11, 2014 2:31 pm

Submit your own review

Please make sure to read our Review Guidelines before posting a review.

<