menu

Professor Matthew Hornsey

Faculty Psychology
Courses Taught PSYC2040, PSYC3142
Contact Email -
Phone Number -
Office -
Submit reviewView reviews (8)

Rating

Total average

99.7/100

Helpfulness ( 100 )
Clarity ( 100 )
Easiness ( 100 )
Approachability ( 100 )
Organisation ( 99.4 )
Availability ( 98.8 )

Reviews (8)

Anonymous
   
Professor Matthew Hornsey 100.0

Only had him for a couple of lectures, but he's a dead set legend and great at explaining content whilst making it seem 10x more interesting than it actually is.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

PSYC1030

Positives
  • top bloke
  • very friendly and interesting
Negatives No negative points
Posted on June 20, 2016 6:15 pm
Melanie
   
Professor Matthew Hornsey 100.0

So clear and easy to understand, and just an all-round friendly guy.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

PSYC1030

Positives No positive points
Negatives No negative points
Posted on June 1, 2016 12:08 am
Anonymous
   
Professor Matthew Hornsey 100.0

He's obviously very passionate about what he lecture on, and this really translates in the way he speaks. I look forward to these lectures every week, and he doesn't read from the slides or a script, but just talks about these topics which he finds truly fascinating. He makes learning seem easy. :) Definitely recommend psyc2040, and also wish he would lecture more!

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

psyc2040

Positives
  • Passionate
  • Friendly
  • Genuine
Negatives
  • NONE
Posted on May 5, 2016 7:02 pm
Anonymous
   
Professor Matthew Hornsey 98.3

Matthew is such a genuine person and is always generous with his time in helping students. He is so knowledgeable and yet down to earth. He is always clear with his explanations and makes everything sound so interesting! Definitely UQ's best!

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

PSYC

Positives No positive points
Negatives No negative points
Posted on May 1, 2016 6:36 pm
Anonymous
   
Professor Matthew Hornsey 100.0

My favourite lecturer I have ever had! Lectures are very clearly structured, well explained and interesting. Even potentially dry content is made enjoyable. Assessment expectations are also clear, and if any issues arise Matthew is very approachable and has such a genuine nature.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

Psyc2040

Positives
  • Too many to list
Negatives
  • Doesn't teach more classes :(
Posted on June 18, 2015 12:06 pm
Anonymous
   
Professor Matthew Hornsey 100.0

Professor Hornsey is most likely the reason PSYC2040 was my favourite subject of the semester. His lectures are entertaining, understandable and taught in a funny and thoroughly interesting way. Definitely one of UQ's best.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

PSYC2040, PSYC1030

Positives
  • plays good music in breaks
  • genuine personality
Negatives
  • doesn't teach more classes
Posted on April 1, 2015 10:55 pm
Anonymous
   
Professor Matthew Hornsey 100.0

Best lecturer I ever had. Was always engaging, friendly, funny and easy to learn from. Applied a lot of the content to his own life. He actually made me want to go to class because he would turn off Lectopia when telling some of his really funny stories and he played cool videos before lectures and in breaks. Wish he taught more classes.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

PSYC2040

Positives
  • Awesome lecturer
  • Was clear about assessment expectations
  • Super approachable
Negatives
  • Married
Posted on July 29, 2014 10:02 pm
Anonymous
   
Professor Matthew Hornsey 99.2

Matthew Hornsey is perhaps the best lecturer I have had the pleasure to learn from in my time at UQ. He is clear, logical and insightful, as well as clever, funny and all round entertaining. He ensures that lecture content is always interesting and well structured, and he always leaves you with the feeling that he is totally approachable. I wish he taught more of the psychology courses, as I'd love to be able to continue learning from this amazing man.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

PSYC2040

Positives
  • Clear, Insightful, Clever, and Funny
  • Approachable
  • A pleasure to listen to
Negatives
  • None - he\'s brilliant
Posted on May 27, 2014 6:48 pm

Submit your own review

Please make sure to read our Review Guidelines before posting a review.

<