menu

Rating

Total average

98.8/100

Helpfulness ( 99.9 )
Clarity ( 99 )
Easiness ( 95.7 )
Approachability ( 99.9 )
Organisation ( 98.7 )
Availability ( 99.5 )

Reviews (11)

Michael White
   
Dr Serena Love 99.0

I found Dr. Love to be one of the most engaging and helpful lecturers I had during my time as an archaeology student at UQ. She ran Environmental Archaeology exceedingly well and presented information in a manner that made it far more interesting than could otherwise have been the case. In fact, she is one of the leading reasons that I was drawn to geoarchaeology as a subdiscipline. Additionally, I found the practical skills that Dr. Love taught alongside the archaeological subject matter (particularly how to analyse, manipulate and present archaeological datasets using Microsoft Excel) to be one of the most useful things I learnt at UQ.

Dr. Love was also my supervisor for Advanced Research in Archaeology, and she gave me the project that I worked on. I found her exceedingly helpful in this capacity, and she always took the time out of her busy schedule to advise me on the project.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

ARCS3040, ARCS3001

Positives
  • Engaging
  • Helpful
  • Taught some very useful practical skills
Negatives No negative points
Posted on June 3, 2015 1:29 pm
Anonymous
   
Dr Serena Love 92.8

Egyptian Archaeology is a well structured course that provides Archaeology students with a chance to gain an understanding of one of the most popular and well studied areas in the world, while also providing the opportunity for non archaeology students to get an insight into archaeology and move to possible further study. The lecturers delivery of the content is concise, and she creates an approachable atmosphere in the classroom, while also making the classes entertaining and enjoyable.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

ARCA2140

Positives No positive points
Negatives No negative points
Posted on June 2, 2015 5:09 pm
Nadia Zigas
   
Dr Serena Love 100.0

Serena is one of the best lecturers I have ever had. She is fun, helpful, friendly, extremely approachable and has a rich background of experience and is always happy to share it. Serena always has time for her students, and goes out of her way to be available. She brings her experiences into all her courses, making them more engaging and making herself as a lecturer a great role model for those wishing to follow in her footsteps. She tries her best to make her courses interesting and fun, and making them about learning through practical experience such as lab sessions and debating. It makes the learning process a lot more rounded and that is always a good thing. She does so much for her students and brings so much to the department, and the greater UQ community.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

ARCA2140

Positives
  • Engaging and encouraging
  • Approachable
  • Great experience
Negatives No negative points
Posted on May 27, 2015 11:07 pm
Braeden Tansacha
   
Dr Serena Love 100.0

I have found Dr Serena Love to be a fantastic lecturer and supervisor. I found that she had an expert level of knowledge regarding the subject material and the information in her course was always relevant. The course was structured in a way that allowed students to be engaged in the learning process. I have never heard a negative review of the Egyptian Archaeology course and it was one of the most fun and interesting courses I personally have taken.

Outside of class she always made sure that time was made available in her very busy schedule for students and I have found her to be approachable and easy going. She has a wealth of experience in the field of archaeology and has provided excellent advice in regards to pursuing archaeology as a career.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

ARCA2140

Positives
  • Highly Knowledgable
  • Approachable
  • Highly experienced
Negatives No negative points
Posted on May 27, 2015 10:50 am
Maryline Kassab
   
Dr Serena Love 98.7

Dr Serena Love lectures with both clarity and conviction, making sure that everyone feels engaged with the topic and eager to know more.
In Arca2140, I learned about Egyptology from a uniquely archaeological perspective, which was refreshing for me as most textbooks tend to focus primarily on the royal/elite class, and do not provide the larger demographic data as discussed in Dr Serena's innovative teaching and research.
On top of this, the class was very drawn to how Serena argued about the intensely visual impact of the physical environment on the architectural traditions of Old Kingdom Egypt. It represents a big step forward in the way of how Egyptologists interact with their data and more importantly present it in an accessible and stimulating fashion.
Serena's wide international experience as well as her solid grounding in anthropology and archaeology have made her an extremely valuable asset to UQ's Social Sciences community. Her passion for archaeology, her commitment to the student experience, and her warm approach set her apart as a gifted scholar and a brilliant lecturer.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

ARCA2140

Positives No positive points
Negatives No negative points
Posted on May 26, 2015 8:57 pm
Harriet
   
Dr Serena Love 99.8

I have had Serena for multiple courses throughout my undergraduate degree. She has a wonderful lecturing technique due not only to her extensive knowledge on multiple subjects but also her passion for archaeology. Course assessments are prepared in a way which makes them relevant, interesting and appropriate to the course structure and level. I have found Serena to be a very fair marker, providing good feedback to correlate her marking. She is very encouraging and instills a passion for learning in her students. Serena always makes herself available to students and is very approachable. Serena has always been willing to further explain things I haven't understood, she is concise and understanding and is never frustrated 'silly questions'. I feel very lucky to have had her as a lecturer.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

ARCA2140, ARCS3040, ARCS3001

Positives No positive points
Negatives No negative points
Posted on May 26, 2015 12:39 pm
Charlie
   
Dr Serena Love 100.0

Serena is a excellent and engaging lecturer. She has structured and designed both the courses I have done with her superbly. Both courses are some of the best and most interesting I have done in my degree. Serena is very easy to talk to and has provided excellent feedback on how to improve my writing style and critical evaluation of academic literature. Additionally, she has been an excellent supervisor this semester in Arcs3001 (Advanced Research in Archaeology) and has taught me many new techniques of archaeological analysis and more ways to manipulate data in statistical programs. She organises and runs many extra activities including volunteer work in the geo-archaeology laboratory and the Kemet (Egyptian) society. She is one of the most active lecturers I have met and it is clear she encourages student to do well.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

Arca2140, Arcs3040, Arcs3001

Positives
  • Engaging
  • Friendly
  • Knowlegable
Negatives No negative points
Posted on May 26, 2015 10:46 am
Anonymous
   
Dr Serena Love 100.0

Dr Love is a knowledgeable and approachable lecturer, and I have valued both courses I have taken with her. I took Egyptian archaeology and environmental archaeology. In both instances, I felt that the courses were well structured, delivered well, had good resources, fair assessment, and were taught well. I feel that Dr Love's contribution to my education has been invaluable, as she illuminated many concepts which had previously been cloudy. The environmental archaeology course was the most valuable so far to my understanding of archaeology. Dr Love has also always been very organised. She has always made time for and respected students, and gives constructive feedback.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

arca2140, arcs3040

Positives
  • good teacher
  • approachable
  • well organised
Negatives No negative points
Posted on May 25, 2015 7:44 pm
Wendy Short
   
Dr Serena Love 100.0

This is a truly excellent course - Dr Love has prepared an insightful curriculum and tutorial topics. Lectures were thoroughly prepared and given in an engaging and approachable style. Most people will know something about Ancient Egypt already, so to have an essay task critiquing modern misinterpretations allows people to challenge their preconceptions and recognise that archaeological history can be more interesting than fiction.
The level of assessment was appropriate. Periodic quizzes allowed solid progress through the material, weekly tutorial submissions ensured students kept up to date with content. The level of reading was also appropriate and allowed good insight and the opportunity for extended learning for those interested.
This would be an obvious course to take as an elective, but any thoughts of not taking it seriously are overwhelmed by a curiosity and interest inspired by great teaching, engaging activities and an impressive topic. Just great!

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

ARCA2140

Positives No positive points
Negatives No negative points
Posted on May 25, 2015 7:43 pm
Abby
   
Dr Serena Love 96.3

I have taken multiple courses with Serena, and additionally undertaken an honours thesis wih her. This review is for ARCA2140 Egyptian Archaeology. I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It was fun and informative, and has paved the way for my career and further study. The quizzes throughout the semester broke the information into more digestible pieces. The structure of the course was excellent. And Serena was a fantastic teacher. Her communication style was effective. Lastly, this course was the one in which I achieved my highest grade throughout my degree with a deans commendation and I credit Serena with a large part of this achievement.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

ARCA2140

Positives
  • Organised
  • Fun
  • Informative
Negatives No negative points
Posted on May 25, 2015 7:21 pm
Anonymous
   
Dr Serena Love 100.0

Dr Love is a good teacher. She explains things in a way which is easy to understand, and is willing to go over things if someone needs it. She prepares good lectures, and everyone who has taken her Egypt class loved it. She structures assessments well, so that it cements the learning of course content and encourages outside reading but isn't overwhelming. She is a fair marker and offers good constructive feedback. She is also amiable and welcoming. She encourages students to do well

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

ARCA2140

Positives
  • approachable
  • knowledgable
  • good teacher who facilitates learning
Negatives No negative points
Posted on May 19, 2015 5:37 pm

Submit your own review

Please make sure to read our Review Guidelines before posting a review.

<