menu

Rating

Total average

100/100

Helpfulness ( 100 )
Clarity ( 100 )
Easiness ( 100 )
Approachability ( 100 )
Organisation ( 100 )
Availability ( 100 )

Reviews (16)

jacob
   
Dr Poh Wah Hillock 100.0

Extremely helpful and dedicated! The hardest working lecturer I've come across and was a massive help in passing my MATH1051 course. The SLT workshops she ran were very useful,

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

MATH1051

Positives
  • SLT Workshops
Negatives No negative points
Posted on July 25, 2017 12:52 pm
Anonymous
   
Dr Poh Wah Hillock 100.0

Poh is an excellent lecturer. She is very organised so you always know what is coming up and what you have to do. She has heaps of oppourtunities to talk and get help if you need it and she genuinly wants her students to succeed. She's also super enthusiastic.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

MATH1050

Positives
  • Very organised
  • Very helpful
  • Clear
Negatives No negative points
Posted on May 19, 2017 9:44 am
Anonymous
   
Dr Poh Wah Hillock 100.0

Fantastic lecturer, learnt the content really well and with ease.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

MATH1051

Positives No positive points
Negatives No negative points
Posted on May 3, 2017 10:39 am
Anonymous
   
Dr Poh Wah Hillock 100.0

Dr Hillock is pleasant to listen to and attentive to student's needs.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

MATH1051

Positives No positive points
Negatives No negative points
Posted on March 16, 2017 7:39 pm
Cassie
   
Dr Poh Wah Hillock 100.0

Poh as a lecturer is easily one of the best. She made me want to come to lectures.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

Math1050

Positives
  • Cares
  • Enthusiastic
  • Simplistic teaching style
Negatives No negative points
Posted on August 29, 2016 1:09 pm
Anonymous
   
Dr Poh Wah Hillock 100.0

Poh is an excellent lecturer. She lectures with great clarity despite the rather quick pace of MATH1051. Furthermore, the extra content she uploads on blackboard are super helpful; if you copy it down onto flashcards, it's useful for exam revision on long bus rides. Additionally, she seems to really want us to succeed in this course.

Although I have never personally seeked extra help from her, my classmates who did found her extremely helpful, especially in extra lessons during SWOTVAC.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

MATH1051

Positives
  • Very easy to understand
  • Helpful
  • Caring
Negatives No negative points
Posted on July 7, 2016 10:24 am
Belle
   
Dr Poh Wah Hillock 100.0

Definitely my favorite lecturer at UQ! She's just a bundle of joy! Poh explained difficult concepts in a way that is easily understood by students. She provided extra problems for revision as well as pencasts (worked examples). I would retake this course just to have Poh as a lecturer again!

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

MATH1050/MATH1051

Positives
  • Approachable and friendly
  • Explains math concepts well
  • Provides extra resources/help when needed
Negatives No negative points
Posted on April 9, 2016 12:09 am
Anonymous
   
Dr Poh Wah Hillock 100.0

Absolute deadset angel.
I failed MATH1051 (I had a different lecturer). She has an optional and additional tutorial session every week with a group for those that may have struggled in the past. Poh will learn, and remember your name which shows she truly cares about your learning. Attending her sessions every week meant I was actually confident, heading into the final exam, that I would do well.
She provided an intense SWOTVAC tutorial schedule, every day for a couple hours to prepare for the final.
If you are taking a course taught even partly by Poh, take her advice and teachings as gospel.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

MATH1051

Positives
  • Incredibly approachable
  • Dedicated to your learning
  • List goes on
Negatives No negative points
Posted on January 10, 2016 12:16 pm
Leon
   
Dr Poh Wah Hillock 100.0

Signed on to a different lecture stream for MATH1051, haven't seen Poh for 1 entire semester.
Couldn't understand anything my lecture said in the lectures.
Watched Poh's lecture recordings instead...for the entire semester
Attended Poh's exam revision lecture...
Haven't seen Poh for a whole semester, Poh calls out my name instantly when she saw me.

10/10 BEST Lecturer UQ
We need UQ Poh fan club RIGHT NOE!!!

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

MATH1051 without Poh :(

Positives
  • All
  • Praise
  • Poh
Negatives
  • Negatives? what magic mushroom are u on
  • Why are you still looking, there are no negatives about Poh
  • Seriously, you try to find negatives about Poh, go, cuz u won\'t find any
Posted on November 12, 2015 9:51 pm
Anonymous
   
Dr Poh Wah Hillock 100.0

Had her in few of my maths courses (math1050, math1051, math1061). She is a great lecturer who teaches well, approaches the students personally and prepares relevant materials well.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

MATH1061

Positives
  • Approachable
  • Easy to understand
Negatives No negative points
Posted on July 24, 2015 3:42 pm
Anonymous
   
Dr Poh Wah Hillock 100.0

I like how this has become a Poh fan page, but it's absolutely justified. My personal story: I didn't understand a particular concept and emailed Poh to ask for some help the night before the exam and past 9pm. A grand total of 22 mins later, she emailed me back a handwritten explanation/derivation of the concept + worked examples, then signed off wishing me luck and encouraging me to have an early night. How many lecturers would do this?!? Total legend, wonderful person, made MATH1051 one of my favourite courses - all praise Poh.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

MATH1051

Positives
  • Total inspirational
  • If you ask for help, she will not let you fail
  • Omni-Poh-tent (she actually knows names!)
Negatives No negative points
Posted on July 7, 2015 7:58 pm
Leon
   
Dr Poh Wah Hillock 100.0

Poh is hands down one of the best lecturers at UQ. Period. By best i actually mean best in all aspects. She has everything you would want in a lecturer. She is caring, patient and she knows her stuff well. Very few lecturers will upload EVERY SINGLE piece of pen cast to the BB on time and fewer would take the time and compile revision exercises for students.

Unlike other lecturers who inevitably seem like they are teaching only because they are paid to do so, Poh actually CARES about you. You are not a student, a hole to be filled or a job to be done, to Poh, you are YOU. Not only does she remember almost everyones names, she acknowledges your presence and the fact that each every student has their own needs.

I love Poh for she cared for me like no other

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

MATH1050

Positives
  • Friendly Asian lady everybody LOVES
  • patient and caring
Negatives
  • Making every other lectuer at UQ look bad
  • Only 1 Poh exsit in UQ
Posted on June 5, 2015 12:32 am
Anonymous
   
Dr Poh Wah Hillock 100.0

Poh was something else. She had the ability to maximise the performance of a student and help her/him to achieve her/his full potential. A key attribute she possess, which I believe is very crucial (and rare) amongst uni lecturers, is her sincere care for her students. She would address you with your name and know exactly what you had trouble with last time you met her. She would always respond to your emails (in a cheerful manner :]), and try her best to help you; whether it be giving you extra problems to solve or other sources related to your problems.

If you're really struggling in MATH1051, make sure you attend her SLT-sessions! That could be a difference between you achieving a strong 7 or a bare 6.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

MATH1051, MATH1061

Positives
  • Approachable
  • Easy to understand/learn
  • Supportive
Negatives No negative points
Posted on February 8, 2015 3:15 pm
Anonymous
   
Dr Poh Wah Hillock 100.0

Poh is an absolutely amazing example of what a top-university lecturer should be. Extremely helpful and approachable, Poh went above and beyond to ensure that we developed confidence in all areas and imparted her own enthusiasm onto me - which helped me look at the rest of my degree with less fear. I hope she will be lecturing in future courses of mine. With her wild photographic memory I'm sure she'd even remember me!

Note to UQ human resources: If Poh tries to leave, raise her pay scale!

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

MATH1051, MATH1061 (with Victor)

Positives
  • Powerful memory - remembers you and your individual progress
  • Very approachable and eager to help and make sure you succeed.
  • Clarity in communication
Negatives
  • It's true, Poh does cover material fast, but I think the urgency she instills unlocks something in the brain and makes you stronger.
Posted on February 8, 2015 11:40 am
Anonymous
   
Dr Poh Wah Hillock 100.0

In short, this lecturer was excellent!

While in most other subjects lecturers take no real interest in you or your learning, Poh made an effort to try to remember not only everyones names, but everyones situation and where they are at in their learning.
A combination of her excellent lecturing style, well organised course, abundant, organised, and easily accessed online material, and obvious care for students education makes learning the difficult course she teaches manageable.
She makes sure to triple underline important things in the content, goes over common mistakes, and attempts to make lectures more interesting.
As well as this, she responds quickly and positively to emails and even provides an abundance of extra "HELP" lectures as well as optional daily tutorials with post-doc math students.

I am not totally sure of her background. I think she may have been a teacher before lecturing. This would explain much. The university would be a much better place and perform better generally if more were like her.

Most lecturers in my limited experience have done the bare minimum, and where their courses lack or where they have been lazy, they claim this to be intentional in order to somehow 'teach' the students something.
Not Poh! She goes above and beyond and although her course is still challenging, she provides us will all the tools we need to succeed if we take her cheerful and optimistic encouragement and just keep at it.
You know she is doing something right when students want to work hard and do well because they don't want to let her down.

Poh needs a promotion and should be paid to teach other lecturers how to do their job.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

MATH1051

Positives
  • Provides students with tools and resources needed to succeed
  • Explains her steps, re-iterates the basics, and points out connections between what we have learnt
  • Demonstrates care for students education and understanding by performing her duties at 120%
Negatives
  • What ever they are paying her, it is not enough.
  • I have heard some students say she goes through content a bit too quickly for them, however, this is a consequence of the large amount of content required and she is usually happy to help students individually whenever she is available.
Posted on November 2, 2014 12:47 am
Anonymous
   
Dr Poh Wah Hillock 100.0

It's difficult to know where to start with Poh. I personally met her just once at the start of the course briefly to enquire about the extra help sessions and didn't see her again for quite some time. I was very surprised when I saw her again and I was addressed not only by name, but with "you were the one that..." followed by a summary of our meeting. I quickly learned that I was no exception, and she had made efforts to know each student not only by name, but by personal situation. Some students proclaimed that she had an "incredible photographic memory", while others would exclaim "I feel like I let Poh down" after the completion of less than stellar assessment pieces.

Personally I didn't share these feelings, at least not yet. I was between surprise and complete awe 100% of the time as lectures and special help sessions unfolded in front of me. Having been through the Australian tertiary education process twice previously (holding a Masters from UQ, and thankfully a few years of work before coming back), I was pretty comfortable with Lecturers who rarely acknowledged emails, had no idea who I was, and were merely pawns in my primarily self-driven learning program.

What Poh brought to the table was something I genuinely believed did not exist. A level of care for each student, a genuine desire to pick up the ones that were falling behind (even in scenarios I'd personally have written off as hopeless), and a brutally well-polished teaching regime to top it off. With very little previous calculus exposure I learned to tackle different integrations, tools to derive results of common trig functions and understand their origin, and for once someone had successfully taught me these things in short periods of time instead of long personal dates with Youtube and Wikipedia. When I struggled with a concept and emailed her, I expected to be directed to a discussion board or tutor/tutorial, but my emails were replied to with detailed worked solutions (to my specific problem) instead. I was awestruck, but then it occurred to me that it would have only taken 30 seconds of her time. I was so used to be flicked aside by lecturers that I expected it, this was almost an entirely new experience for me. I say almost, because Dr. Liza O'Moore (who lectured me the previous semester) shares the same concept of care / kindness that Dr. Poh does, and I really think this is something we don't see enough of.

In short, Poh to me was far more than just a good teacher. I consider myself a cynical person, but I am left with a changed perspective of what tertiary teaching is capable of being - and what it should be. To the lecturers out there reading this: let's look beyond our research topics for a second, beyond out-climbing our peers on the research paper / conference ladder. Let's remember for a second that a university is a teaching institute and there is some degree of responsibility to act as a teacher first and foremost.

Which course did you take? (e.g. MGTS1301)

MATH1051

Positives
  • Focuses on simplifying complicated concepts
  • Personalised approach to individual students
  • Care
Negatives
  • Lack of human cloning devices, could do with a few more like this
Posted on July 7, 2014 8:41 pm

Submit your own review

Please make sure to read our Review Guidelines before posting a review.

<